Faculty Affairs Committee


Specific areas of responsibility include, but are not limited to, policies and recommendations related to the following:

  • Policies for appointment, promotion, and tenure;
  • Policies for off-campus assignments and leaves of absence;
  • Policy for discharge for cause;
  • Evaluation of administrators;
  • Procedures for faculty performance assessment;
  • Workshops on promotion and tenure;
  • Policy on consulting;
  • New faculty orientation.


  • Promote consistent and transparent faculty appointments, evaluation, and advancement practices across all colleges.
  • Advocate for faculty support and incentives to encourage faculty retention.
  • Promote transparent and equitable workload expectations and requirements for all Faculty across all colleges.
  • Continue upward evaluation of administrators on a regular basis.
  • Promote the optimal balance between campus security and access.
  • Regularly review and recommend revisions of the Faculty Handbook and Evaluation Manual to the Faculty Senate.

Members of Committee

Andrea Elberger (Chair) College of Medicine - Basis
Ashanti Braxton College of Dentistry
Eddie Burton College of Dentistry
Terry Cooper College of Medicine - Basis
Melody Cunningham College of Medicine - Clinical
Penny Head College of Health Professions
Lisa Jennings College of Medicine - Clinical
Alexander Mathew College of Medicine - Clinical
Robert Nolly College of Pharmacy
Stephanie Storgion College of Medicine - Clinical

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President Office
Thaddeus A . Wilson, PhD
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TNĀ  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323